The Configurations Dialog

Message Server Configuration

Remarks

The Configurations dialog manages a workspace's list of configurations. Configurations can be created, edited, and uploaded to message servers. Information contained in the selected configuration is displayed with a series of dialog pages.

Dialog pages

General (view dialog)

Provides a place to enter a name and description for a configuration. Names are required to be unique throughout a workspace, but have no other restrictions. Descriptions are optional.

Additionally, this page provides the ability to export configurations to message servers. Configurations can be uploaded to a message server through TCP/IP, or saved as disk files and manually copied to the configuration file location specified with the setup app. The latter is provided chiefly as a backup in case the machine is unreachable or the message server won't start. Manually copying a configuration file to the configuration file location will have, with one small exception, the same effect as uploading the configuration to the server directly via TCP/IP; in either case the new configuration information will be processed the next time the message server starts.

Changing message server settings requires restart of the message server. Changes to IPC buffer settings can take effect only after all message generators and the message server stop. This generally requires a reboot. When a configuration containing changes to IPC settings is uploaded to a server, the server will write the new information to the registry immediately, thus allowing a single reboot to effect the changes. If an IPC configuration change is effected by manual copying a configuration file, the message server will write the new setting(s) to the registry the first time it sees the change i.e., the next time it starts. The changes cannot take effect until the server and all generators are restarted. Thus changes to IPC settings made by manual file copy will only take affect after a message server stop/start and then a machine reboot whereas changes to IPC settings effected via direct upload will take affect after a single reboot.

The "restart flags" selection applies only if the configuration is uploaded. The message server will save the configuration and then restart itself or the machine. It will not log on a user in the case of a reboot. The reboot will not be forced; running applications will have a chance to cancel the reboot. If the reboot fails, the message server will attempt to restart itself. The exception is a cancelled shutdown on Windows NT; there is no way to detect whether the reboot was cancelled, so the server will not know whether to restart itself. On Windows 95, the server will detect the cancellation and attempt to restart itself.

To upload a configuration, check the box next to the connection(s) representing the message server(s) to be configured and click the Upload button. The status of each operation will be displayed next to the connection name.

Settings (view dialog)

This page allows configuration of resource usage and connectivity. Each value is explained in detail in the Configuration Settings Appendix.

Message Handlers (view dialog)

This page manages the list of message handlers for the configured server. The server must be licensed as an Enterprise Edition to enable this feature. See Configuring Message Handlers for a description of each field.

Forwarders (view dialog)

This page manages the list of forwarders for the configured server. The server must be licensed as an Enterprise Edition to enable this feature. See Configuring Message Forwarding for a description of each field.