A refresh of a query causes data displayed by the query to be brought up to date with the data in the workspace. The query’s filter is applied to each log message in the workspace. The query is re-drawn and a sort is performed. Bookmarks and marks are preserved across refresh. If auto-delete is disabled the user is prompted for the disposition of any deleted messages.