The Connections dialog

Paul Bunyan Overview, Viewer Overview, Message Server Overview

Remarks

The Connections dialog manages the creation, editing, and enabling of connections and also displays real time connection information.

Note that to edit a connection it must first be closed.

Dialog elements

Connections

List of all connections in workspace. Each connection has a checkbox indicating whether or not it is currently enabled.

Name

Just a descriptive name field for readability. Note also that this name is simply typed in by the user when giving a particular connection a name it is not intrinsically related to the machine name of the target computer.

IP address

TCP/IP address of the target computer.

Port

Socket port. Default value: 54022.

Machine name

Computer name, according to the operating system, that the target message server is running on.

Server name

Name assigned to override the "machine" field for messages generated on the server the connection represents.

Server version

Version of the connected message server. Just provided for diagnostics and tech support.

Duration

Hours:minutes:seconds that this connection has been active.

Bytes in

Pretty much what the label says.

Filter

Lists the selectors in the filter for this connection to indicate what kinds of messages are getting tossed without having to fire up the filter dialog. If the list box is empty and the label indicates an exclusion filter, then there is no filtering applied to the connection.

Edit filter

This button brings up the filter dialog.

Cookie = begin

Each connection object keeps a marker to track the last message received from the target server. Each time a connection is enabled, it receives only messages it has not received before. This button provides the ability to retrieve messages again. When the cookie is reset to "begin" and a connection enabled, all messages in the server cache will be received (subject to filtering and message keys as always).

Cookie = end

Each connection object keeps a marker to track the last message received from the target server. Each time a connection is enabled, it receives only messages it has not received before. This button provides the ability to not receive any old messages. When the cookie is reset to "end" and a connection enabled, no messages from the server cache will be received. Only messages encountered by the server after the connection is established will be delivered. Subsequent disconnect/reconnects will behave normally.